Opening hours | International Antarctic Centre
Menu

Opening hours

The International Antarctic Centre is open daily from 9am to 5.30pm.
The 60 South Cafe is open daily from 8am to 5pm.

The free Penguin Express Shuttle departs from the city for the attraction from outside the Museum on Rolleston Ave at 9am, 10am, 11am, 1pm, 1.30pm, 2.30pm, 3.30pm, 4.30pm.

If you’d like to book a conference or event outside of our opening hours please contact us.

Yes we are open 365 days a year,
including all Public holidays and anniversary dates

…including mondayisation (when a public holiday falls on a weekend).

Public holidays 2019

  • New Year’s Day — Tuesday 1 January
  • Day after New Year’s Day — Wednesday 2 January
  • Waitangi Day — Wednesday 6 February
  • Good Friday — Friday 19 April
  • Easter Monday — Monday 22 April
  • ANZAC Day — Thursday 25 April
  • Queen’s Birthday — Monday 3 June
  • Labour Day — Monday 28 October
  • Canterbury anniversary day — Friday 15 November
  • Christmas Day — Wednesday 25 December
  • Boxing Day — Thursday 26 December

Colony collapse cause for concern

Where have all the penguins gone?

Over the last week a concerning report from Halley Bay has been making newspapers around the world.

The bay is Antarctica’s second largest emperor penguin breeding ground. Or, at least, it was. After…

Read More Join our newsletter

Breakfast with the penguins?

Looking for a delicious and unique breakfast experience for your group? We’ve got just the place.
The menu’s great, the view’s spectacular and the service is backed by our little friends in feathered tuxedos. Trust us… everything will go swimmingly.

READ MORE

Search...